Thursday 19 March 2015

2015 Western Australian Heritage Awards

The finalists for the 2015 Western Australian Heritage Awards were announced this morning and we are very excited to be listed among the community organisations! In total, there are 43 finalists across eight categories, which are listed in full below. More info on each of the finalists can be found here.

Voluntary individual contribution
  • Norma Andrews of Busselton
  • Councillor Laurie Ayers of Kalgoorlie-Boulder
  • Dr Howard Gray of Geraldton
  • Peter Snow of Albany

Professional contribution
  • Martin Colgan of Northbridge.
  • The late Ian Hocking of Shenton Park
  • Tom Perrigo of Perth
  • Dr John Taylor of Claremont
  • Malcolm Traill of Albany

Contribution by a community-based organisation
  • Carnamah Historical Society & Museum
  • Guildford Association
  • Historical Society of Cockburn
  • Jaycees Community Foundation Inc
  • Kalamunda & Districts Historical Society
  • Maritime Archaeological Association of Western Australia
  • Mount Lawley Society
  • Slater Homestead Group Advisory Body to the Shire of Goomalling

Contribution by a public or private organisation
  • City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder for the Burt Street Heritage Precinct
  • Colgan Industries
  • Heritage Perth

Heritage practices by a local government
  • City of Albany
  • City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder
  • Shire of Northam

Interpretation project
  • Albany Forts (Princess Royal Fortress)
  • Discovery Bay’s Historic Whaling Station
  • Esperance Foreshore Interpretation Project
  • hiLIGHTS - celebrating 125 years of the State Library of Western Australia
  • Old Port at Arthur Head Reserve
  • Original Railway Station, Geraldton
  • Shipwrecks of WA smart phone app by the Maritime Archaeological Association of Western Australia
  • Tranby House (Peninsula Farm)

Heritage tourism project
  • Cape Naturaliste Lighthouse
  • Discovery Bay’s Historic Whaling Station
  • National Anzac Centre
  • Rottnest Island Wadjemup Walk Trail

Conservation or adaptive reuse of a State Registered place
  • District Medical Officer's Quarters (now Dome Cafe Port Hedland)
  • Duke’s Inn, Northam
  • Harwood’s Cottage and CafĂ©, Busselton
  • McNess Royal Arcade facade restoration, Perth
  • Old Port at Arthur Head Reserve, Fremantle
  • Old Railway Station, Geraldton
  • Stirling Terrace enhancement, Albany
  • Wanslea - Cancer Wellness Centre, Cottesloe

The winners were announced on 15 April 2015 and we won! For more, see our blog post 2015 winner at the Western Australian Heritage Awards.

No comments: